Standing there again 2006-05-01 9:31 p.m.


I feel better.

Saturday's misery must have been the climax before the end.

Where does time go? Why is the day over so soon after it begins.

There is another job opening... an ideal job opening at a place where my education - not-so-much my talent - would be used. The payscale is nearer to what my husband is used to... and a figure I will probably never see where I am at.

What keeps me from sending in my application?

Comfort.

I have it good where I work now, and I know it. I get paid shitty, I don't get OT... my holiday time sucks... but everything esle for me... is how I say it is.

I know you're thinking yeah... well... you answer to somebody... but yeah... well I don't. My "manager" so to speak is one of my best friends... she's the girl who carried my wedding shoes all night... the girl who unpacked my kitchen for me... I don't answer to her... I share with her. And if I go... she'll quit.

I'm standing at the crossroads again... The chance of the bottom-feeder in a career I've always wanted... or a silver spoon and a job I moreless loathe.

If I asked my boss for $24/hr... 3 weeks paid vacation... and all my current comforts.... what do you think he'd say?



previous next comments diaryland old