Long long when you've gone 2006-01-24 5:49 p.m.


We are not made of blood and flesh alone... at least I'm not. I am tiny pieces of everybody who has ever loved me... and larger pieces of those who forever will. I'm not here because I've done this on my own... I would not be this girl without those threads that keep me tied.

That isn't difficult to understand, is it?

My friend's been hurt... and I'm sure not only for this reason... but partly because the one who should have loved her wanted her to let go of her past. I can only assume he wanted her to love him and him alone... or somewhere in a tangled heart felt if he didn't have all of her he had nothing...

I wonder if he's ever thought if he could love the girl who didn't appreciate her past. She wouldn't be who she is without it... without her greatest love and her weakest love and all the loves in between... She couldn't love if all she could do was resent and push aside... If ignorance was that easy for her... what kind of person would she be... what kind of mother would that make her one day?

Can't he understand that? Doesn't he want her to know what she had... and all the things she didn't have? Wouldn't he want her to spend her life seeking nothing less than the best for herself... to benefit him in the end?

Maybe not. I don't know him. But I hope one day he finds a way to understand her need and her reason for holding on... and realize it never meant she loved him less or that he wasn't enough somehow.

Loving someone is never shame... but denying that you do is sin.

~I would say you've been told... work me 'gainst my friends and you'll be left out in the cold.~



previous next comments diaryland old