Needles 2005-12-30 4:54 p.m.


I get really nervous about needles. I hate them. I beyond hate them... and I know that's ridiculous since I get one just about every month.

Well this afternoon was our travel clinic before Mexico. A sit down with a public health nurse (for a fee obviously) to go over the whats and wheres of serious and easily communicable diseases.

I have a comprimsed immune system thanks to my blood disorders and I really can't take the gamble of polluting my blood further. Let's face it.... if I ended up with anything slightly serious for the average person, it would probably escalate into something nearly fatal for me. And I catch everything.

So I was incredibly nervous about the T/D shot... I remember my ex cut his foot on a broken grill one night and had to have his T/D booster... he told me it was pretty painful... and to avoid it at all costs.

The nurse gives Blair his shots first. Flu, T/D and TwinRex. He doesn't even wince.

I get to the chair and my tummy is rolling... I hate that moment... the one where I know it's coming, but can't leave, can't change the moment for what it is. The nurse looks at me a couple times, certain I'm going to passout.

"No... just quick, do it."

First the flu. No worries. Then T/D... I get anxious... I take a deep breathe... and I wonder how much more it will hurt than b12.... so I prepare... close my eyes... breathe out.

I didn't even feel it.

New arm... new shot. Hep A. Yeah that I felt... It burns... but not badly.

Today I learned there isn't an injection I've had yet that hurts more than b12. Even IVs don't hurt as bad as the complete firey pain of death by red.

Good to know... I should be set.



previous next comments diaryland old