The political rant. 2005-11-29 8:17 p.m.


From Miss Delta Orion
~Stephen Harper does not want to be prime minister.

Seriously. That's the only way I can explain it.

He had a nice set of very real issues he could have used to hammer on the Liberal party with, and what does he do, first day out of the gate?

He announces plans to revisit the gay marriage thing.

Holy fucking crap. Does the man have no political savvy at all?

Maybe he's forgotten which country it is he's hoping to be elected leader of. In the United States, opposing gay marriage is a pretty durn good vote-getter.

But here in Canada? The majority attitude is, hey, let's keep the religious definitions of marriage inside the houses of religion where they belong. (And yes, I used the word definitions, plural, for a reason.)

Civil marriages are civil marriages. They have nothing at all to do with religion. In fact, unless you're opposed to civil (ie. not conducted in a church or other house of worship) marriages for anyone, you have no grounds to oppose gay marriage because "marriage is a religious institution." It's total and utter BS. And the slippery-slope argument? It falls apart as soon as you invoke a single, bitty little two-syllable word that starts with a "c" and ends with "onsent."

A majority of Canadian voters understand this. And yet, Mr. Harper has chosen to commit political suicide by dragging us all back into it. He might as well have handed Paul Martin a great big freaking hammer and painted a bulls-eye on his forehead.

Sweet merciful crap. This election season is going to be uglier than I thought.

No wonder so many people in this province are voting for the damn Bloc.~

I wrote a comment in return to that pretty much insulting the Conservative culture.

I have no political bias, I don't vote and my reasons are obvious but don't think for a moment I'm uneducated in the subject and I ignore it. LOL, I'm a Qu�becer born and raised... being ignorant to politics is as impossible as not speaking French.

I strongly believe that you have to live in Conservative Canada to understand it... as you have to live in Qu�bec to understand separatism and southern Ontario to really understand the Liberals. You can't truly know where someone comes from until you're submerged in his blood.

In Harper's case we have to understand that he is an Ontarian turned Albertan. It's similar to a Canadian turned American, only an Albertan would never admit that. Conservative values and American values are very close... and Harper is hoping to gain the support of the west... which pretty much proves he's an idiot, unworthy of any vote.

Doesn't every Canadian know that western votes don't count? There isn't the population here for the western voice to be heard. Alberta by itself can be out voted by the GTA alone, I'm sure of it... and yes, it IS shameful that the west isn't heard, but it's the shameful reality of living here... if the western population wants a say in their federal government they have two choices... 1) move to the GTA or 2) separate from our nation and stand alone. Neither very possible.

And Harper's priorities are a direct result of his assimilation and someone needs to point this out to him. To no choice if his own, his conservativeness forces him to be anti-gay and pro-beef.

ONLY in Conservative Canada does the news headline with the cattle border and NOT four mounties slaughtered on a Mayerthorpe farm. I've been saying it for YEARS... no matter what goes on in the world... if a cow in this province has a hiccup it's all we'll hear about until it subsides. The only thing more importnat than a cow here, is a gay marriage... and only long enough to spit on it.

As a journalist and a Canadian, I finding that disgusting, but it's the way it works here, and it won't change. I suppose I could always move to the GTA.

This is why I don't excerise my voting right as a Canadian. I can't agree with anyone.

I believe in a Canada that will never exist.

My ideal Canada would offend anyone who isn't open minded or multi-lingual.... well cultured or hasn't left his shoebox town.

I won't support anything outside of my ideals, my morals and my vision of Canada. All parties in this country have too many faults.

I don't like Liberals... and I can't stomach Harper's redneckness... It isn't 1860... this isn't the day of segregation of any kind... this is not a time when we hold ANY CANADIAN back from his happiness or deny him of the charter of rights... but maybe he forgets this. And if we have to judge him and Martin we have to judge every leader of every party in the country equally....

Which moron would you elect to be your voice?

Well I choose none of them, but I don't think they make a box for that.

So instead, I reserve my right to be an educated Canadian woman just the same.... and the right to marry a woman, if I want to...

If our country revisits the same sex marriage issue, I think the nation should STOP buying beef... and go pro-chicken until Harper marries a man... preferrably Ralph Klein.

And, I bet he would.


previous next comments diaryland old