wrong number. 2005-11-27 11:01 a.m.


I tried to call Dover yesterday...

I always dial the wrong number. An elderly lady used to live at the wrong number and then for a while the number didn't exist.

Now it belongs to a young French guy... who doesn't appreciate misdialed numbers.

He answers...

"I'm sorry, I have the wrong number," I say rather apologetically in English... he huffs and slams the phone down. To understand the stereotypical Qu�becois you have to know that anything distrupting his day would annoy him, but when it's an Anglophone who doesn't even TRY to apologize in French, well that's likely to light a torch under his bum.

I redial Dover's number and again I get it wrong... I sort of smile, realizing my mistake when I hear the aggrevated quack at the other end.

He swears..... and again slams down the phone.

I dial a third time... only this time I purposely dial his number and not hers.

Before I even get a chance to say I'm sorry, or say hello he starts barking about my idiocy... he rambles on in French, thinking of course, that I'm Anglo and I don't have a clue. "Are you stupid? Why do you call here when you know you have the wrong number?"

Without missing a beat I reply, "Well, I like it when you swear..." I couldn't keep a straight face...

I could hear his lips curl in smile when he realized what an asshole he'd been.... "Salut... " he said as if suddenly we'd become friends... and he quietly hung up.

I never did call Dover....


previous next comments diaryland old