sweetest 2005-11-24 5:30 p.m.


My sweetest moment was hard to pick... because there have been so many, and over time I'll chare more of them... but I think this one takes the cake... and Darling, if you read here still you'll probably smile in memory too...

One weekday in the summer of '98 I was home to eat lunch with my parents and my father had brought in the mail... in there was a Purolator package for me... and when I tore it open, inside was a letter signed with love and a plastic bag FILLED with green skittles and green M&Ms. I was miserable that day, and had been that whole summer actually, but I when I got that package I was so happy didn't know whether to laugh or cry.

Love is when someone knows you so well they don't have to think to make you smile... there isn't any thought - there doesn't need to be. Love is pure when your best friend will do anything to make sure you know he loves you... to make sure you're happy... if only for a moment... if only for a day... if only for a few hours on a Sunday.

He knew what he was doing when he sent the candy... he knew I'd like it, but he had no idea he'd alter my view of sincerity... he had no idea that he'd set the bar for any man to follow... any no man has ever lived up to that... not in the same selfless manner...

and as a close second... a boy I know didn't like me very much... ate a big bag of skittles (again *haha*) one day, and knowing I love the green ones, saved every last one for me. He hopped out of the front seat of his friend's car... and without so much as a smile said "Here, Amanda... I saved these just for you. I hope you like them."

I knew then that he's a fabulous, selfless, caring man, no matter what I thought about him. He didn't have to think of me... he had no reason to. We had no love lost... but for whatever reason he wanted me to smile... and it worked.

Despite our differences... I know he's a wonderful, gentle, caring soul... and the people in his life... the people who have been in his life... are lucky. Including me.

Those two moments of sweetness... are two of too many moments to count... but they lasted the longest... and in some way, changed me.


previous next comments diaryland old