My friend needs serious helps. 2005-10-31 9:15 p.m.


I was talking to a friend... with a new boy... She lacks so much confidence in herself and in others it almost hurts...

I guess she's a true romantic in the sense she believes in "little" moments that make her heart go "pitter patter"... and she's constantly looking for that to make her happy...

She began to hate her last boyfriend because he never did anything for her... and she's loving her new one because he buys her things... expensive things... and is the king of all things dumb, meaningless and corny.

How she thinks that THAT will sustain them, I don't know.

She's never had a meaningful relationship... but she is type who can't be alone... the "type" I'll never understand.

Of course, I, the good friend I am, need to point out the correlation...

"Why is it that you girls with the idealistic dream of romance... are always the girls to NEVER keep a man, but ALWAYS need one?"

I guess I would have thought that BY NOW she (and others) would have figured out what they're doing wrong.

Wow... I get annoyed. I get annoyed when smart girls fool themselves... I just wanna shake them and scream...

Why is it so wrong to love yourself enough not to settle... why waste your time searching for the "pitter patter" moments when it's the REAL moments that last.

So she tells me how her man drew a heart in her peanut butter or something fucking retarded like that... and even she sees the candle burning out at this point...

I laugh... "Are you fucking kidding me??!! If B ever did that, I'd probably wipe his face with it... I'm sorry that isn't romantic at all... it makes me wanna gag."

"*laugh*... you're right, but it was kinda sweet, sort of. Ok, maybe not... You take the fun out of everything..."

hahaha well maybe I do... maybe I am too feminist... and too realist... and too practical sometimes...

But I have had many good men in my life... men I've loved and who have loved me... and none of those men had to whoo me.

Wouldn't you rather just be with someone who wanted to share life with you... instead of wasting it drawing hearts in sandwich spread? O

k... maybe that's just me... and once in a great while... (Feb 14) is one thing... but all the time is cause for demise.

She'll never find happiness is these are the things that make her happy...

"Hunny... New love makes you heart skip beats because it's new... and shinny and pretty... But every new thing gets old.... all shinny things rust... all that glistens is not gold."


previous next comments diaryland old