baby it's me, again 2005-10-04 6:46 p.m.


I know I've mentioned here (at least I think I have) how I tend to strangely attract small children and babies... or attract strange children and babies, whichever it is...

It's so odd in fact that it's come up in conversations at work... and though a one or two people in my office have witnessed it (actually it was a co-worker who noticed it first) it's kind of just this "story"....

Well, Saturday some of us from work went out for dinner for C's birthday... and sure enough I no sooner sit down and the baby boy at the table next us with his back to me, does this Linda Blair 180 head flip to have a look at me. He smiles ear to tiny ear... and has a great giggle at my expense.

Usually, I just ignore other people's kids. I'm not a baby lover... nor a kid lover, and I'm a traditionalist in the sense that I don't think you should take very small kids to restaurants - mostly because I rather not get stared at when I'm trying to eat.... But, in this case, I give him a smile a little wink and said "hello, Baby."

J starts laughing. "IT IS TRUE!"... Yes, yes it is... and she laughs as she noticed the superhuman might in which baby swung his tiny head around... he never saw me coming... it was like he just knew I was there.

For the rest of his dinner his parents couldn't get him to spin facing forward. He was stuck wanting to see me. They turned his chair so he needn't have to strain his wee neck... He'd look, and smile, and when I'd let my eyes catch his, he's laugh a BIG laugh... and flirt a little... and carry on his task of trying to eat his piece of pasta.

I couldn't tell his age, but i would have to guess he was getting close to a year old. He had no real understanding of anything we were talking about, but everytime I'd laugh, he'd laugh... and LOUD... I was talking about the bottles above our heads, and what does baby do but look up, and giggle. Finally, his father took him to the washroom, and upon taking him out his chair, the little guy tried to nosedive from Dad's arms into my lap. All smiles. He was aching for me to hold him. It was cute... and strange but not atypical for me in the least.

I had joked that night that C's baby was probably in her tummy having a look and a laugh at me too... and she agreed that I was sitting closest to her baby's head.

Today at work I was standing by C's desk... getting some work done and she winced a little in pain. I looked at her... and I thought not much of it, since lately she's been wincing a fair bit, I've noticed...

She moved and cramped again... and said "I swear, my child is moving around in there... and he only does it when you're around."

Well what to do you know... It certainly wouldn't surprise me if he was spinning circles trying to find me... hahaha


I used to think it was something in the way I looked or smelled... but maybe it's something else... like a feeling... or vibe... or a current...

I don't know. I would really like to, though.


previous next comments diaryland old