truly 2005-09-12 10:00 p.m.


My holidays are over... and for the most part I have slept them away....

I've realized a few things lately... things I've tucked away for a moment when I could lay them out and iron them smooth...

I've realized the value of having a world full of true friends.... friends who love you like your family loves you... friends who know you... and no amount of time and no number of miles will ever change that.

Thank you M., A., T. and D. for reminding me....

I saw A. last Tuesday for the first time since 1998 - for any amount of time anyway. We had dinner, the three of us, and though B didn't say a lot, he grinned a fair amount about stupid stories of us as kids.... eating huge amounts of cookie dough until we nearly puked. Making slime... and daring eacthother to eat it... biking the miles and miles between A's house and mine on SWELTERING summer days... and believing we just might die riding up the stupid hill... lucky enough the hill was right before my aunt's house, where, never fail, we'd break for a 2 hour swim.

Laughing about the silly boys of days gone... and the reputations I have and am not entirely sure why I have them... I'm known to be wild-child... bear all with a grin type kid... and for the most part, I never did those things they accuse me of.

Laughing that, and yes i admit this is true, I always had the cutest boys in school standing at my feet for whatever I wanted - mostly just to do my math homework... and laughing how dumb they were they'd do it in class, in the front row with the teacher watching... and for NOTHING... I took, but I never gave more than a smile for their kindness.

And laughing how all the "cool" girls would sputter in misery when those cute boys would walk... arms around me to the bus... sharing snacks or carrying my things.

My secret was simple too. They should have just asked.

I shared good times with good people... but I was a different girl then.

A. reminded me of my former fine art of master manipulation. I admit this, but I haven't done it in so long. She told Blair how I used to be able to stand in the front fire of any argument and argue so solidly that, even if I was dead wrong, I could convince the other person I wasn't... and eventually make them APOLOGIZE for ever doubting me.

I guess that's why my father always said I should be a lawyer or a politician... Ironically, becoming a journalist covered those fires with empathy and I've never been the same girl since.... I can't totally blame my trade choice... but combine that withe paths of life... and it's easy to see my footprints.

Having a friend like A though, warms me... and I'll undoubtedly be spending a lot more time in the Capitol with her.

I talked to D. on Friday for the first time years. I only ever call him on his birthday... and I did. What filled me with love was knowing that he expected my call and asked, if he wasn't home, to let the phone ring. "I wanted to hear you say 'Happy Birthday...' I didn't just want a note."

We spoke for hours and hours that night... laughing... remembering... we watched MXC together and called it a night... I can't explain my admiration for him... I just know, much like Davy, if I was ever lost... he'd find me.


previous next comments diaryland old