Canada, I love you. 2005-07-16 11:36 p.m.


I love Canadian music....

But I didn't love Tupelo Honey. They were cute... they are Canadian, but sadly their sound is the same of every cute and Canadian band around... and each song was so very much alike they might as well have been one. I hope they do well though... I root for cute.

I liked Waking Eyes. They were fun... very Sloan. Very dorky Canadian... big hair... striped t-shirt kind of guys... tall skinny and moving with the wind. Mostly talent, topped with fun.

I love Thornley, though I never really know how to spell the name. I love Ian Thornley... I think because he reminds me of Chris Cornell... and Cornell is one of my weaknesses... up there with tea, skittles and salty things... Mr. Thornley is raw... and may be one the greatest guitarists that will ever come from this country. I've seen a few times, and I'll keep going back.

I love Sam Roberts... I love anyone who can honestly say they've had a beer with the Hip... hahaha... I would whore myself out to him for that reason alone. :o)~

He's a hometown boy and I would feel obligated to love him even if I really didn't, but he makes it easy. His sound is his own... he doesn't sound like Sloan or Nickelback (thank God for that)... As a band, they are are distinct and unique... and you feel, standing 20 feet away from them with nothing but space between you, that you've known them for a hundred years... may be more, even.

That was the highlight of my day... being close, with nothing between us... and watching Sam practice hours before the show.

*haha* I had other highlights too... but I'll save them.


previous next comments diaryland old