It's a Lonestar, dude. 2005-07-07 8:52 p.m.


Today I jumped out of bed like a jack rabbit when I heard about the bombings in London.

I have too many people near and dear to me there... pieces of my past... pieces of my soul... bits of love everlasting... and hearts who knew me way back when... a sister, a couple friends and a confident... none of whom I could do without. The distance alone nearly kills me.

A. had a note waiting for me.

"Hi Darling. Just wanted to let you know I am okay and safe over here. Everything seems to be in control already. I will write more soon I promise... miss you, love you. A."

He was always good at knowing what I was thinking long before I ever thought it... I guess that's why he and I are so close and probably always will be.

Some live far enough out of the core that they weren't affected... and I haven't heard from the last yet... My only comfort is knowing that he probably doesn't use public transit... I can't be certain... nor certain that the ones he loves haven't been hurt.

The world's a mess.

Being in the middle of fucking nowhere may be Grande Prairie's only selling point.

And while I talk about Alberta I'll tell you why I hate the conservative view... (yes fully aware I'm marrying one).

A lot of people in the west criticized Jean Chr�tien for not getting involved with matters Middle Eastern... many people called him horrible things because he felt sometimes we shouldn't fight fights that aren't ours. They feel his liberal views make him a pussy... as a result Canadians are wimps.

Maybe he wasn't as stand-offish as a leader would be expected to be... but his nose isn't quite as brown as Tony Blair's either... and in the end all those things that westerners hated about him... are the very same things that keep us safe.

I wonder if any conservatives gave that thought as they read the headline "Islamic millitants rage againt British involvement in the Middle East." I wonder if tonight they're happy enough being pussies and living without fear... or maybe they'd prefer it if one day that's Montreal or Toronto or Vancouver on the news.

They're not forethinkers.

Then again, if it's not in they're driveway they don't really care anyway...

As a group they're not really sure what the difference is between the group of seven and the group of eight and they certainly don't know what the big fuss is about.... Oh Yeah... kids are starving in Africa...

But fuck man... we can't sell our beef.

That's why sometimes I hate it here... why I hate western views... and western news... Somedays I want to scream.


previous next comments diaryland old