the day 2005-04-30 10:33 p.m.


My day has been a waste...

I was suppose to get up and go for an xray... what I thought was bursitis looks like a lower lumbar problem... possibly a slipped disc... yet again... for only the fourth time in my adult years....

But I woke up and felt drastically more mobile, so I didn't bother... yeah remember to kick me in a couple weeks time when I can't do anything for myself again...

And no I didn't make an appointment with physio like I was suppose to... don't rag on me... if you spent the first 8 years of your life with physiotherapists, and several times afterwards with them too, you wouldn't jump at the chance to go again either... under ANY circumstance.

I won't expect you to feel bad for me later, don't worry.

So instead of self-healing, I spent the morning on the couch watching TV and the afternoon scrubbing my kitchen, picking up the living room and avoiding the bathroom... which amazingly was cleaned by Blair... why is this amazing... well, it's maybe the fifth time in five years he's cleaned it. I'm even generous... it might only be the third... I just gave him two extra for benefit and for love.

Then we headed out looking at lots to build a house on... the whole process is driving me crazy.... picking the lot, the floor plan.. the knowing that trips home for the rest of my life will not exist... or few and far between... the signing away childhood and signing up for adulthood.

Suddenly my hip hurts...

Ok Jess... Here are a few tricks I've used in the past to help fight evil...

Not to sound like every health magazine in the world... but drink lots. Drinking lots will help skin, headaches, cramps... the works. I know it's hard and I actually HATE drinking water but I get my fill with herbal teas... green tea lots of green tea. Or drink Dasani. I think they lace it... it tastes different and it's kinda addicting.

Cut down on caffeine. Caffeine is one of the main contributors to tiredness, aches and pain... as are simple sugars... I feel like such a hypocryt for even saying it. I'm the biggest caffeine and sugar whore going... but trust me... I know from personal experience that reducing caffeine intake alone can reduce all kinds of pain dramatically.

Stretch. No matter how bad you ache stretch a little bit... not insane, just a bit. If you do any yoga... I mean a simple back stretch, cobra and knee to chest... nothing severe, just something to losen your core will help your pain. Stretch your legs, and neck... even 5 mins twice a day should help.

That should ease the aches a bit... and yeah a bit of advil never hurt...

As for the skin... moisturize like there is no tomorrow. I have terribly oily skin, and I used to think moisturizer was kind of dumb because my skin is slick, but I was wrong.

Twice a day, no matter what. I'd recommend anything Mary Kay if you can afford it or Hydrafresh by L'Oreal if you're cheap like me.

And a good cleanser... twice a day...

That's pretty much it... and all that talk makes me need a cup of green tea... wash my face, stretch and go to bed.

My only other suggestion is to speak to your doc about switching you to something low dose... I've tried probably 50 different types of pill... and they always make me crazy... except LoEstrin... I've tried the pill AND antidepressents... basically I was bitchy and started to hate myself... I either ate too much or forgot to eat... it was a mess. Going off the pill was the best thing I've done for myself... but for everyone it's different.

And if all else fails... just call a friend and have a good rant... that makes everyone feel better.


previous next comments diaryland old