Letter to a friend.... 2005-02-03 9:11 p.m.


I agree we shouldn't be able to love more than one at once, and I'd be lying if I said I didn't too...
I guess the easiest way to sort it out is to know undoubtedly which one completes you... which one you couldn't see yourself without. That's what I do. Love has many faces... entirety has one. In four years I haven't been more than a week without my boyfriend, and not a single day has gone by without at least his voice and an "I love you..." I know certainly that if I didn't have his voice - if I never heard him say those words, I couldn't survive.

The opportunity (with many many strings) came to me over the summer to leave what I was doubting (this) and have something else... something old... something probably very successful and very happy, but not without consequence... not without pain and not without giving up the love and warmth and guarantees I knew I'd always have, even if I had my doubts. I knew I had a choice, and I guess knowing I had the power of choice was all I needed to make the right one.

This is my life... I can love a hundred men... but I will never love one man with the same strength that I love this one... I could never choose between him and someone else, because no one else could compare.

It's the only thing I'm sure of lately...


previous next comments diaryland old