my bum hurts 2004-08-16 9:20 p.m.


My b12 shot made me cry. Rarely does that happen... in fact I don't think I've cried at the hand of my family doctor since he's been my family doctor. He's usually INCREDIBLY gentle and kind... and to his credit he is the best at giving shots.

Unless he couldn't sleep the night before... tossed and turned all night... a lot on his mind... (yes we talk about shit like that... not sure how that got started, but every month now, we have a quick chat about his life then mine... or mine then his... while he gets the shot ready)... I cringed when he said he was tired... "and you're coming near my bum with a needle?"

{evil grin} "I am... bum please...."

The friction made a sound like a straw against the hole of those cup covers... a sqeeky grind... I flinched... and curlded up on my toes the best I could... in attempt I guess to get away... pinned between the table and my doctor.. it was stupid to try... but I did. My broken foot aching from the weight of myself... and the weight of the doctor pushing the needle harder than he expected to.

"Mmmm tough today. I don't know why..." he rubs the skin on my hip with his other thumb... "It's not you're skin..."... he pushed more... I wince and try hard not to make a sound... but the noise breaks through my lips like the metal through my flesh.... and the tears roll without mercy down my face...

He sighs... "I am REALLY sorry...I am usally good at this, aren't I?" as he hands me a tissue he obviously fished from his pant pocket... "Just a bit... more... and...."

"We're done?"

"Almost...."

"JESUS"

"done!"

I sigh the quivery sobbing pain type of sigh... like a child trying to be brave... and I lean for a moment over the table... as he presses hard with alcohol over the hole.... he sympathetically squeezes the back of my neck and my shoulders with his free hand as he apologized again... "Mmmm lots of blood too," he says, surprised.

I pull up my pants... and he turns to throw away the needle and the wrappers...

Facing me again he had this wide boyish grin... he looks almost ashamed... and he says "Know what Dear? It didn't hurt because I am tired... it hurt because I used a different needle."

"Bigger, I assume..."

"Yeah about three times bigger than i usually use. I don't know why I grabbed that..."

"Because you're tired?!"

He crossed his eyes and with a goofy face his laughs at his mistake...

"So, Sweetie... you might want to go home and put some ice on that. I think it's going to be a welt."

Finally, I laugh too.

We discussed allergies... my broken foot... swelling... and how if I can't get a proper boot on by October, I'll have to move to Florida.

He says I can't live in Florida with all those hurricanes... and I say I rather die happy in Florida than miserable in Grande Prairie... and he ponders the logic for a moment... laughs... and decides he's moving to Florida too.

For my trouble, he was going to give me a sample of an allergy medicine he thinks I should try... but he didn't have one, so he wrote me a note for it... he hands it to me, with big sad eyes...

"Forgive me?"

"Mmmmm.... no..." I laughed... "Get some sleep."


previous next comments diaryland old