blame the four year old after all... he did it. 2004-05-24 11:03 p.m.


Some kid stepped on my trying to get better foot today.... I don't blame the child. He was no more than four.

His mother didn't even apologize... afterall, she "didn't do it" so why would she apologize? Yeah, I mean... how dumb am I thinking people actually take responsibility for their children anymore.

"Maybe you shouldn't let your child run wild in a store."

"Well you obviously DON'T have children. I CAN'T CONTROL HIM!!!!"

"If you can't control your child, then you shouldn't take him shopping (or have children at all, for that matter)... Just a thought..."

That poor boy is going to grow up without any knowledge of courtesy... any thread of manner... and he's going to learn that he needn't be sorry for anything...

Kinda sad, isn't it?

If I was four and I stepped on a stranger's broken foot... my mother would have made me apologize myself... and she would have apologized again... she would have been kind... and not come out with some half-assed excused about her not "actually" doing it... so therefore not "actually" being sorry for it.

Of course, my mother also knows how to parent.

"Blame the four year old... after all, he did it."


previous next comments diaryland old