sum 2003-05-12 11:23 a.m.


I find in sanctuary so many things I haven't missed.... a complete lack of menatlity... a way of life that is unlike any other way of living... and I wonder why I forgot so fast.

And in sanctuary I find love everlasting... every strong... I find confidence I sometimes lack. Here I know who I am, completely, within the company I stand. I am the girl who dreams bigger than everyone else. I am the girl who got out... the girl who has seen and lived and loved and pained. I am the girl who struggles and fights.

The black sheep amongst a field of dreary white.

I am making a point of this visit being about family and not friends. I told Steven I was here... I'll see Amanda and Nate and maybe Ian... but I am not running around filling my holiday with old faces... not this time.

Family becomes hugely important when years and land span between us....

I didn't realize how much I missed my cousin until my face made him cry... I never realized how much it hurts not watching his son grow up... he's a beautiful boy... and having his little body in my arms made me ache. Leaving him will wreck me. The longer I am away the less he knows of me... though he somehow called my name and gave me a hug before anyone else. Children are strange that way.

I worry a little bit about well being here... about how people think. By 9 friday night I well educated about the smokable types of weed.... about white rhino... as if I cared to know... ever.

I worry about children here... shake and think they haven't a sweet hope in this hell of drugs and drink... I am not a mother but I have never seen mothers care less than mothers tend to careless here.... I believe in a child's right to have everything he needs to sustain fully... and some mothers here don't give that.... not whole heartedly anyway.

Life here changes.... but it's still very much the same.


previous next comments diaryland old