Betty has a bottle again. 2009-09-09 9:39 p.m.


My mother has a drinking problem. She has had for years and years but worse so in the last ten... it's a HUGE bone of contention between us and probably one of the biggest reasons why I don't live there anymore...

Of course she denies that she does.... because that's what drinkers do. But she is the reincarnate of her mother to a T. And when she's drunk, like her mother used to, she likes to call people... it's lovely for us she rings.

It's like listening to a broken record for ages... the same conversation forever and ever... and once more just in case you didn't hear it the first 600 times.... it DRIVES me insane...

Last night my phone rang with my parent's number on display quite late. I should have ignored it like I normally would, but to my mother's credit her drunk-n-dial hasn't been a regular thing lately... so I answered....

And she goes on... and on... about how she's mad at my Dad's sister for not calling because my uncle is in the hospital... and how she's babysitting my nephew starting "Thursday, September 10, the day after tomorrow." Yes, I'm aware of what month, and day we are and where in the week Thursday falls... and she's mad at my Dad's sister for not calling because my uncle is in the hospital... and she's babysitting my nephew starting... well you get the point.

So I finally say to Mum... "How is it, you can't fucking remember what you said three minutes ago, but you always seem to remember my phone number when you're three bottles of wine in?"

She never answered. Mostly because she hates when I call her on her drunkeness and she knows how much I hate the drunk-n-dial.

I love my mother... but I hate when she turns into her mother - the one woman she always hated.... which ironically is probably one of the reasons she drinks.

My life's a little fucked up right now... and I've got enough on my plate with my hubby... I don't need to fix my mother.

And if anyone should be drinking... dontcha think it should be me?


previous next comments diaryland old