bring me back in shackles 2008-10-13 3:34 p.m.


My baby is sleeping...
My husband is working...
My friend and her son are napping upstairs.

All I can hear is the low moan of the dryer in the next room and my thoughts running like mice in my head.

Motherhood exhausts me. I'm still very consumed by the amount of energy it takes to care for and love someone else so wholly and independantly.

I am his life.

That aside, I have never been so in love in all my life. I have never been able to want to be near, smell, touch, kiss, watch one person for the whole day and night through. I have had the odd hour apart from him, but they've felt neverending and I longed for his soft skin on my cheek the whole time.

Yes, I'm one of THOSE mothers and he is one of THOSE sons.

He's like looking in a mirror... a tiny boy version of me, only he's far more beautiful than I could hope to ever be.


previous next comments diaryland old