History isn't for TV watchers 2008-04-21 3:38 p.m.


The ignorance of others is pretty amusing.

Last week some guy wanted a logo drawn.... an iron cross, a skull and two axes crossed below like cross bones.

He cuts trees... and he's serious about it, apparently. He also watches too much TV... however, perhaps not enough.

I drew it up for him last week. He loved it.

Today he comes in and decides the skull is a little too harsh for his "older" clients. They might be offended by the skull and wanted it changed to a saw blade.

So I have to point out what seems obvious to me.

"Those people who would be offended by the skull are the same people who will remember the iron cross as a symbol of German supermacy."

"What do you mean??? It's from West Coast Choppers."

Oh right, I forgot, with the birth of West Coast Choppers came the Iron Cross.

So I explain to him how the iron cross is a German victory medal given during war - most notably with a swastika stamped in the centre during Hitler's reign.


I think he thought I was making it up.

haha.

Ah well, I hope it works out for him...


previous next comments diaryland old