Sometimes even the best news sites can't get it right. 2008-01-22 9:38 p.m.


First I would like to say that in the following I am by no means mocking the death of a man. No matter how he died, Ledger's death is tragic.

As a girl who spent a few years in journalism school, I find the lead on this story rather unthoughtful - wordiness aside.

"NEW YORK - Heath Ledger, the talented 28-year-old actor who gravitated toward dark, brooding roles that defied his leading-man looks, was found dead Tuesday in a Manhattan apartment, face-down and naked at the foot of his bed with prescription sleeping pills nearby, police said.

There was no obvious indication that the Australian-born Ledger had committed suicide, NYPD spokesman Paul Browne said."

Those paragraphs should have been spaced apart, if incorporated in the same article at all. I read the lead four times, trying to swim through all the commas and find the hook and I'm still not sure there is one. When I got to the suicide bit I thought who would plan his death and choose to be found naked by the housekeeper? I assume the man has pride afterall and some sense. Until the media confirms it was suicide, I will give him that.

A little thought would have done that story some good.

God Bless him.



previous next comments diaryland old