The right intention with the wrong message 2007-12-18 10:05 p.m.


I have a friend who moved here about 23 months ago from her town in Germany. She claims that she never spoke English before arriving here and has learned almost all of her English while working here
Poor girl, she worked the last 11 months with me. I know, I'm a journalist; my English is probably better than most people's in this area and speaking French gives me the advantage of understanding and being able to explain the complexities of English.

One thing I smile at, is a foreigner's attempt at English slang.

Bless her.

She went for her 20 week ultrasound yesterday and she sent me a text in reply to my asking how the scan went.

"I think good. The chicken said it looks like a boy...."

Ahhh, yes, the chicken.

I can't explain how I laughed, but I know only Davy will read this and be able to hear it.

The chicken.... and I thought, I wonder if that chicken makes dough.

In similar smiles, my father (yes, he is retired) teaches woodworking at a local elementary school. He's a fine craftsman is Dad. He might be the finest craftsman anyone will ever meet. I could tell you how fine, but you wouldn't believe me...

He enjoys spending time with children and he's a fabulous teacher. Tonight he tells me about one girl who decided she wanted to make wood burning art for her parents for Christmas. Dad said "Fine. We can cut two hearts out and figure the best cut out the wood." (Dad's an environmentalist. He'd make toothpicks before he'd waste wood.)
On they go, cutting the hearts out. Perfect. My dad Sets the girl up too wood burn.

On the first heart she burns "#1 Mom".

On the second heart she burns "#2 Dad".

My Dad is a man of few words, few smiles and few laughs. He said he had to hold back his laughter so he didn't upset the girl, and when the class was over he cracked up... and laughed all afternoon.

He was laughing when he told Mum to tell me about it. I could hear him in the background. "I'm not sure what Dad did, but he's certainly NOT #1!!!"

That Dad is going to love his Christmas present, you just know it. He'll hang it on hs wall until his last day, ever reminded of his daughter's innocence.

Dad hollars from the background as Mum and I are laughing... "That's almost as funny as Pogo Soup, isn't it Pander?!"

[In grade one my teacher told us that our Friday lunch was pogo, soup and a drink. She said it fast. I was confused. At the dinner table I asked my Dad what Pogo Soup was. He's never let me forget it.]

Pogos remind him of my innocense too.

Chickens

Pogo Soup

and Number 2.


previous next comments diaryland old