What's good to you? 2007-12-01 10:08 p.m.


people often confuse fun friends with good friends.

I hear a lot of this lately "I went out with so and so and met his great friends. They're such wonderful people!"
or
"I'm so happy had I had a chance to meet his wonderful friends. They're GREAT!"

Well... I hate to be the realist here, but a stranger who buys you a drink or two isn't necessarily good, nor wonderful... and it doesn't matter how many drinks are bought or funny jokes are told... they still won't necessarily be good or wonderful by the end of the night.

Yeah, yeah I'm the eternal pessimist.

Wrong.

Why "adject-ify" a friendship that hasn't been proven?

Along the path of life, good people can be very poor friends... and people I would never class as "good" turn out to be fabulous friends.

So when people say such silliness, I find myself actually saying "what makes them good?"

And very rarely can anyone tell me.


previous next comments diaryland old