Dear Irony.... 2007-09-20 10:42 p.m.


The doctor gave me Toradol today to ease the excruciating stabbing pain in my lower belly. It takes the wind from my chest and sucks the colour from my face... every 30 minutes or so.

After a long wait and the ever-favourite internal... and I wonder how many strangers have to have a good look and handle my ovaries before the month is done.

He doesn't know exactly what's wrong... his best guess is a large cyst soon to rupture, or an infection... So he gave me the Toradol and said "Take these for the pain now... and if the cyst ruptures before your ultrasound, or an infection presents... you'll really need these."

Yay!! Can't wait!

I come home... I eat a snack... and about an hour ago I take a toradol to take the edge off so I can sleep... that's all I need... the edge off.

Suddenly, the right side of my face feels warm... and warmer... then sore. It's always a good sign when you take a PAINKILLER and then feel NEW pain in a place that didn't even hurt... and I think to myself 'self... this seems familiar...' and I touch my hand to my cheek....

There's a large welt... probably loonie size growing from my face... starting under my eye and working it's way down... and then my left knee starts burning... and then a spot on my back... not many tiny spots... a few LARGE hard welts. The chest gets tight and my breathing more laboured than usual.

Hives... and asthma. I used get hives with asthma with prolonged use of NSAIDS.... but I used Toradol in May once or twice after my foot surgery... and was fine.

So, I'm stoned... my stomach is rolling... and my ovary still hurts... my face feels like I have been punched... my knee is on fire, my back itches... and I can't breathe.

My ears keep ringing to the tune of "Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so..."

Oh, Irony, it's going to be a long night.

Let me rest in peace.


previous next comments diaryland old