long weeks.... 2007-07-12 12:52 p.m.


I need a break.

Today I get to travel somewhere, nowhere Alberta for a reunion... my husband's family, of course, not mine... and I'm not really up to four "fun-filled" days mixing with people I've never seen nor ever will again.

I'm not up to people... and dare I admit, not even my nephew.

My health has been interesting... I look healthy, I feel ok... I'm just a little tired - ok very tired - but that isn't new... I have a headache and stomach cramps from Hell... but what do I know? I thought both were par for for the course...

My doctor calls me at work and tells me that I immediately need to go in and get bloodwork done, again... for the third time this week. My hormone levels are out of whack and through the roof and this isn't "acceptable"... Well I've heard there are plenty of things about me that aren't acceptable... but ok, I'll go.

Thanks to the beauty of the internet I researched the cause and effect of high levels of these hormones... basically I failed to see why he was panicing... ironically after I just finished telling my friend that I go for all these bloodtests and no one tells me anything about them...

Well, I see his need for panic now... somewhat... highly increased levels of certain hormones (the ones highly elevated in me... mine are over 5 times the acceptable "limit") can cause all sorta of things and can mean all sorts of terrible things... the most common cause, they say, for someone taking the medicine I take, is early miscarriage... which would certainly explain why I puked consistantly three times a day for two weeks... and then almost died on the weekend with cramps... but hey... who knows... Or, it's an indication of an aggressive brain tumor situated on the right side of the pituitary... Oh, wait... I have one of those - I just didn't know she was "aggressive".... or... by some Divine intervention all my fertility issues have been cured and I'm overdosing on synthetic hormones - God Bless HRT. That'd be a bloody miracle... and miracles and I don't often share company.

I won't know for a while, if ever, which this is... and I'm not really sure if I care. I'm tired. Very tired.

The issue is, that one of the major effects of eleveted horomone is sedation... a type of a coma...

Well... I have a family reunion this weekend, and I hate my job... a little coma is sounding pretty good. I could use the sleep, quite honestly.



previous next comments diaryland old