The days before... 2007-05-07 7:29 p.m.


"Enjoy your day. Love you, my friend, love you heaps."

No sooner does her finger brush over "send" when the phone rings.

"Hello?"

"Hi."

"Hi, my Darling!" It was over a year since she heard that voice. Over a year even though just weeks ago they stood barely walking distance apart and never said hello, never met for a smile or a hug.

"I have to be quick."

"Ok."

"Thanks for the note. I need you to know, that you are the greatest love of my life and that will never change. I couldn't see you because if I had I don't think I could go through with... It's just that..."

"I know. Go - get married... have a great time. Be happy..."

"I love you, Babe..."

And for the first time she couldn't say it back...

He didn't have to call... he didn't have to say it... She's always known... when his lips never said it, his arms always did.


previous next comments diaryland old