I wouldn't sleep either. 2006-12-06 11:09 p.m.


Stephen Lewis is "the Man who Couldn't Sleep"...

He's changed me.

I watched him on The Hour this week... and he changed the priority of my thoughts in 6 minutes... Like so many selfish people I was preoccupied with my own politics... my own world that i truly forgot what is important... how the world is falling apart.

If you don't know who Stephen Lewis is, he's the man retiring his position as the UN Envoy for the HIV/AIDS in Africa... what his official title is, I am not sure... but if you're thinking he's a bore of man who'll fill you with how pathetic Africa is for AIDS killing it, you're wrong... and if you think you ALREADY know how bad the AIDS crisis is... you're wrong. You don't have a clue. I don't either. That's the problem.

"...If spending on defence continues as it has, [the US] will spend $8 billion a month in 2006 to fight the war in Iraq -- and another $1.5 billion a month in Afghanistan.

Compare that to $8.3 billion spent worldwide in 2005 to fight HIV/AIDS, which infects 40 million people."

My heart sank.

If that doesn't change who you are... then what the hell are you doing here to begin with?

http://cbc.ca/thehour

http://stephenlewisfoundation.org

Learn something that means something...


previous next comments diaryland old