rings 2006-05-29 10:46 p.m.


I was at Shopper's tonight picking up my perscription (and I wonder why the cure is always worse than the disease)... when I decided that needed a bottle of Dasani.

I was too much in a me mood to stand in line at the front till that i went to cosmetics and asked the girl nicely there if she'd be so kind.

"May i see your rings, please? Wow. How old are they?"

"One's a year and a half, the other just a few months."

"They look so much older. Like they were your grandmother's."

"No, they're new, they just need to be cleaned."

"I meant vintage. They're very lacey - intricate - of the 20s or 30s. Very Unique. Very beautiful... the lovlinest rings I've seen."

A lot of women look at my rings... more than you'd think... a lot of women's eyes glaze over... but I usually get "what's that worth?" as if I might have a clue what my left hand costs these days. I don't.

I have had girls show their boys my ring and say "I want that." but I have never really had anyone notice the originality of it.

It made me grin... I notice those things too...


previous next comments diaryland old