The kindness of strange men in the rain. It's a fine thing. 2006-05-21 8:42 p.m.


I'm a terrible driver.

I admit this freely and as I don't drive often, I don't really see it improving... nor do I really care if it improves.

Worse than my driving, however, is my parking... I couldn't park straight if someone else parked for me.... and like most of the world, I can't parallel park and again, I don't really care if I ever learn to.

Yesterday I had to go pick my husband up at the airport in the pouring rain... and sure enough when I got to our small airport the only 3 stalls at the front that I could legally just pull into were taken... so I, being me... pull into the stalls in front of those. "Reserved for Limo Service only". Good spot... close to the door...

Well i sit there for ages... calling my husband and urging him to go quickly, since I'm parked where I shouldn't be... "grab your bags and get out here, before I get a ticket..."

Sure enough... moments later a man in his 60's, dressed in a suit... a fancy had, a walky-talky and a stern face comes out of the doors... look right at me with his finger pointed... Fuck, i think, I'm getting my first parking tickect.

I unroll my window... and smile...

"Madam," he says "You may look like you belong in a limo, but you're not driving one. I'm going to have to ask you to move."

"Oh... I'm sorry..." I say "It's crappy out, I really cannot park... and I have to pick my husband up... i didn't know. I suppose I'm getting a ticket?"

"Yes, it's pretty wet out here... and no, I'm not going to give you a ticket. I see a spot right behind us here at the very end. If you just go up, turn left at the stop sign and come back around, I'll make sure the spot is still there for you...."

"Nice. Thanks so much, and I'm sorry about that..."

"Not to worry my dear, have a nice day...."

I dunno what it is... my a little bit of mascara and I get away with anything... it's pathetic, but I do assure you all my boob and cleavage was nicely hidden by a tight pink t-shirt... with the words "mini-me" silk screened across them.

When my husband and his friend got the truck I proudly exclaim "and once again, my pretty face saved me from a ticket..."

"Gross," my husband says "I saw him. he was 80."

No, he was more like 60 and who cares... he was kind and I'm $30 richer than I should be.


As my friend said today as we laughed about it in line at Peavy Mart... "I dunno what it is about you... but they just look at you and think I have to save this sweet girl from a parking ticket... I must, I must!"

Meh.... whatever works, works.

That man made my rainy day bright...


previous next comments diaryland old