Water's war. 2006-05-20 11:42 a.m.


I come from a rural area of Qu�bec... a region known for its maple syrop and fine cheese... it's mountains, lush green in summer and fire red and rusty in the fall.

It's a small area when you think of the province as a whole... small enough that plenty of Qu�becers themselves haven't heard of it... maybe a town or two within its boundaries, but never to hear it called The Eastern Townships.

Today I stepped out of the shower and I was wrist deep in anti-frizz... smoothig my hair for the braids that will soon my knoted in, when I hear on my local radio... thousands of miles away from my home...

"Severe flooding forces hundreds of residents from their homes in The Eastern Townships."

Why does Grande Prairie bother with the news of annual floods in my hometown a whole country away, unless it really is severe.

I call my brother and leave a message... "Hey, it's me and I'm wondering if you're floating... if you're dry and if you're safe... Let me know. I love you."

He calls back: "How'd you know?"

Well, I'd like to pretend I'm psychic, but I gave it up, in fact I heard it on our news....

It is severe... a whole section of the province is under water.

My whole family is living in a muddy lake of Yamaska sludge... hip deep... losing land and tools... and the hair on their heads.

My father probably has it worse... he's north... north at the Saguany... above the mouth of the St-Lawrence... fifteen hours away from my mother and my brothers in some small fishing camp with no way to get out... no way to call home. If he drowns... the only one who'll know is the guy who is with him... should my dad drown first, that is... Not that he would drown at all. But he has two major rivers and a lake to battle.

My poor mother is stressed... She's already called the Zec to let them know my father and his friend are likely stranded... and as far as we know, they'll be sending a helicopter to haul them to the "drier" land of home. Rope ladder and all... my father will be thrilled.

My brother can always make a joke... he says the news crew stopped by his earlier and said to him, "Do you speak French?"

"No," he lies "I'm English... the guy down there speaks French really well." He points to a house 100 feet down from him, knowing well that his neighbour will be nothing but annoyed by a news crew.

The newsie says, "Well the water is worse down there, anyway isn't it?" not realizing, I guess, how dumb it is to say that when the ground is flat.... water will always level... oh... yes... and it's RIGHT NEXT DOOR.

And my brother in his witty self says "I dunno, Man, I think it depends where you're standing..." looking down at the water seeping over his hip waders... "If you ask me, it's pretty bad right here."

I smile... even when he knows he might lose everything... he can still joke in the face of someone's stupidity....

That's my boy... lets hope all three of my boys... and my three girls stay dry and unharmed.


previous next comments diaryland old