I get it from her 2006-05-18 10:43 p.m.


My mother is the single funniest woman I know... She really doesn't hold back, even when she should... and sometimes it's less than polite... but it's ALWAYS funny.

A friend of hers has recently satrted seeing this man... within the last 7 weeks or so... a nice man, my mother gives credit to that. Tall and bald, and in his 40's. All ok by Mum... he doesn't speak a word of English and she doesn't speak a word of French, but they get on ok... Only she's been planning to go to Asia for a while... long before he came in the picture... and that would mean much time apart.

Today her friend announces the cancellation of her trip and their September wedding. How does Mum react?

"ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR FUCKING MIND?!"

She tells me this story and then continues to talk to me like it's me marrying some man I can't understand and barely know... I laugh becase she is so obviously stressed.

"Amanda, I don't know what $15,000 buys now-a-days in a man, but he'd better be hung like nothing has ever been to give up her dream. AND she was going to cancel her trip because she couldn't find a sitter for her cat and she wouldn't put him in a kennel... but NOW this guy's allergic and she's having him put down!! What's THAT? She's crazy..."

"Maybe Mum, but she's a grown woman... and love makes us dumb."

"Not that fucking dumb. It really sucks to be her cat."


previous next comments diaryland old