Let me count the ways you have it wrong, my friend. 2006-04-26 6:39 p.m.


I think you have to define "friend" a little more accurately... as it means more than teeter-tottering between putting up with and antagonizing...

Sometimes it's like watching the sacrificial lamb get slit... if there's a purpose to the blood... at least, make it quick.

Maybe I define friendship differently... maybe that's my secret spice to keeping all my childhood friends... I don't know... what do I know, really?

I have had that love that means life to me... I have the need to hold onto it... and the day came when I realized I can't stand in a firing squad and stand there alone... I won't take the bullet for him, if he won't even have the balls to admit he's not man enough to take one for me.

I'm not saying it wasn't hard... it was... but days before I was married I managed to kill the lamb with one quick slit. I said what needed to be said... I made it more clear to him that any gypsy's crystal ball... I was the man he will never be.

He hates me now... *lol*... or his friend's might argue that he loves me more than he knows he'll ever love his wife... and he hates that... but either way... I was able to define "friend" when he couldn't any longer... "You are not a friend when I need you to be... you're a friend when you need me to be. Now, you're just that man I can't stand anymore..."

Friends don't stop loving you when they have someone else to love better.

Friend's don't use the word "communicate" in reference to keeping in touch... nor do they "stop communicating" when the going gets tough...

A friend doesn't let life circumstance tear you apart... but lets it bring you together... and a friend... or a lover... who was truly either... will be there for you decades after the flame falls ill... no matter who you love, who you marry or what you have that they don't....

Honesty goes a long way in life... pretending... just gives you hope.


previous next comments diaryland old