What it is... is simple. 2006-04-13 3:59 p.m.


I have my own versions of what love is... certain moments that stick out of the sands of time.

Love is... calling a friend crying for no reason, and having him listen without saying a word.

It's bringing your wife home chicken noodle soup in the middle of a busy day.

It's letting your friend "steal" the quilt your grandmother made you because "pink looks better" on her anyway.

Love is believing your little sister is the most beautiful girl in your world... and telling her so when she forgets. Or calling her for no reason to remind her.

It's sending your friend a card that says "You might be a freak but you're the best freak I'll ever have."

It's laying on the couch in strong arms watching a show you hate... every week for years. And missing the show when the tradition stops.

It's washing your friend's hair when she's too sick to do it herself.

And it's taking your son's girlfriend to the doctor 4 hours away and helping her bathe, walk and eat when she's ill.

It's going all the way to Mexico for a friend you haven't seen in years... for the niece you never talk to anymore, and for a girl you don't even know.

It's bedtime stories everynight...

The smell of Jakob when he snuggles into me.

I've known a lot of it... I guess I'm lucky... the list could go on and on.



previous next comments diaryland old