There's a point to this... 2006-04-04 9:48 p.m.


"You can't get anywhere in politics these days, unless you're a quadrapalegic." - Sam Sullivan

That was my laugh tonight... one of a few... it was genius... and again another reason why I love Rick Mercer. I'm all for political satyre. It's the Quebecer in me.

Speaking of politics... the other day while driving down one of our busiest roads I noticed a billboard. It has the face of a baby and it reads "I'm a child, not a choice." I looked at my husband in shock. "Is THAT a pro-life ad?!"

"Yeah, it looks like," he says.

I don't know who put that up, and I don't know what country they live in, but where I come from we simply don't have the right to publicly display offensive opinions... why is it that Canadians strongly believe we have some sort of right to so-called "free speech". We don't. It's never free.

Now, I'm not pro-life nor pro-choice... and I know I'd never know either way until I had to make such a choice... at this point in my life, God willing, I'll never have to choose... but I by NO means think there should EVER be a billboard favouring one over the other.

How would it work in reverse? I could bet that every bible thumper in Alberta would be all over the city for approving an ad that said "I am a choice as well as a child..."

What is fair is fair... and who are we... pardon me... who are they to throw that shit up on a giant board for me to see everyday? I don't want to see it... and I'm sure there is a right that says I can't be forced subject values and/or religious beliefs against my will. The one thing I have that is free.

When I find it, I'll be sure to fax it to the city with a note that says: "Please remove the pro-life billboard from our city street and thanks again for respecting and protecting our rights."

Just for the point...


previous next comments diaryland old