It's not Valentine's today my friend... 2006-02-15 6:53 p.m.


My afternoon was funny... and I always have to grin when such things happen... and since the old diamond... they happen few and far between now...

A client comes in... a young guy... decent looking... nicely dressed... but the attitude of a man I'd avoid for miles if I could... and he's sweet-talking our front end staff into completed cards for Friday.... when C says "Well, I'm not the one who'll have to do them, ask Amanda."

No. Good Lord... don't let me have to deal with him, I think... I was praying for Divine intervention... but, I, always nice (mostly nice) to customers... walk up to the counter with a smile.

"So may I have them for Friday?"

"Friday at 5?"

"Ah. I'm not in town on Friday. How about Monday?"

"We're..."

"... closed for some holiday you have here that we don't in Thunder Bay."

"Yes."

"Thursday?"

"Today's Wednesday. I can try, but don't set your heart on it."

He smiles full grin and with such sincerity... "You already have my heart set. You stole it when I walked in."

Do people REALLY talk like THAT?!

I look at him... I'm kinda shocked... and I manage a "Nice try. But I'm still not promising you anything" without laughing in his face...

"That wasn't just a line, Amanda. I'm Italian, and I know a wonderful girl when I see one."

Yeah... who knew THAT was an Italian trait they've all got. Not me.

And so the discussion about his card begins... it's drawn out... and the obviousness that he's trying to keep me from my work and at the counter with him is SO undeniable... I was uncomfortable with him.

He changes his mind about twenty times when he says "Just do whatever you think I should have, print those up for me Honey and I'll pick them up tomorrow."

Ok. How about no. Let's go for that.

And then... he wants decals... but sadly for him, I'm not the decal girl and I'm a Qu�becer... and I know a way out of a bad situation when I see one... my escape. Thankfully.

A. comes up to help him with the decal... and he says to A "if you get it done today I'll build you something for your house."

I... standing a few feet away turn and say "Hey... how come I didn't get an offer like that?!" I should know better, but I'm a sucker for free things.

To which Mr. Quick-Wit says "Well, I'll give you me."

SHUT UP! *hahaha*

Again... how about no?! We're still going with that.

Oh the funniness doesn't end... as a little past five I'm dorking around in the office... when who comes strolling by behind me, but the boy with a dream... who... so very uninvitedly... put his arm around my shoulder whipsers in my ear - in a way my own fianc� wouldn't - "I saw them. You're awesome, Hun, thanks."

He walked away and I look at S in shock....

Why didn't someone save me?



previous next comments diaryland old