I'm not always fair... but I don't care. 2006-02-12 10:31 p.m.


I didn't handle my wedding invites gracefully... and I've offended some of my father's family... Meh... I couldn't have pleased them anyway.

They think an invite 4 weeks before the wedding is like a slap in the face... and well, they aren't wrong... and I don't deny it was a little bit dirty of me... but they cannot argue that I have very good reasons for not giving them the chance to be there on my day.

My dad's eldest sister is the only one of the bunch with balls big enough to send an email and then call with her heart a little heavy about it... and she always has my respect for being so upfront...

Her: "We could have been included when others were..."

Me: "You're right. But it took hurting your feelings for you to call me for the first time in five years."

Her: "You haven't called me either."

Me: "Yes, that's true, but unfortunately for you, that's not what we're talking about and that's not how my invite list was written. I'm sorry. It wasn't a personal attack. It's not that I don't love you. You haven't said a word to me in five years. I wasn't in a rush to get give you an invitation because I never thought in a million years that you'd care enough to come."

Her: "That's fair. But I think we would have made the effort. We love you and we're proud of the woman you've become. It just hurt, but I understand."

Well thank you... maybe my mistake was underestimating my family... not thinking that despite the everlasting bullshit of small-town life, my family wants to share in my life... well at least when it means seven days in the sun of Mexico and all they can drink...


previous next comments diaryland old