A gesture for memory. 2006-02-06 10:42 p.m.


The other day was the anniversary of my grandmother's death... she past away in '89 of various cancers... and I couldn't help but remember the day... and remember her... though I was young when she died... I remember her so well... In so many ways I'm a reflection of her... from my big deep brown eyes... to the silly things I say now... and the things I stop myself from saying knowing that Gram would disapprove.

I have Gram to thank for my manners... and my dislike of ketchup.

Ironically the other day, on the anniversary nonetheless, my friend sent me a pledge form for her particpation in the Cancer Relay in support of the Canadian Cancer Society. Her goal is achievable - to raise $100 and run the all-night relay in Montreal... to be honest, I'm not even sure when or where it is... I never got that far.

I thought donating would be a good way to remember Gram... a little smile on an otherwise sad day for my family...

I hope my children are never robbed by cancer the way I have been... I hope their grandparents (unlikely but I can hope) are not stolen from them before the age of 10... and I hope they never have to watch an aunt struggle through the disease. I hope none of their friends die from it... or their friend's parents... Cancer has been all around me... forever... and if I thought every penny I had would be the cure... the give all and end all... so my children and your children would talk about it like we talk about the plague... like's a medieval disease or a myth... I'd would give my last red cent to the cause...

If it was that easy....

Nothing ever is.


previous next comments diaryland old