Life's all we got. 2005-09-25 9:23 p.m.


He's a father... I'm happy for the fact that everything he wanted he's finally got... but I'm weary of the years to come.

That's probably unfair of me... I haven't met his wife... but call me the grandest of skeptics, I don't believe a marriage in the middle of a pregnancy has "forever" tattooed all over it... and I'm not 110% sure he has it in him to make it last... History has a nasty habit of repeating itself. I've known him long enough to watch some of that... and I know where he went wrong last time... Did he grow enough in the four months between women to change? I doubt it. I doubt that part of him will ever change.

His only strength will come in doing anything for his children... and that same strength will kill him one day... when the stress of life and love and child all hit heads... like a bull and matador, he won't be sure what's red and what's not. I'm scared of that...

I know how much he wanted this... and I'm afraid for him that it just won't be enough in the end... I don't mean the child... of course his kids will always be MORE than enough...

Sometimes when we dream... we dream larger than life... and when we wake up realize that when push comes to shove... life's all we've got.



previous next comments diaryland old