My name. 2005-07-24 10:24 p.m.


My weekend was very family-filled. We were at my inlaws everyday since Thursday.

B's aunt and uncle are going to europe at the end of the summer until sometime this winter so this was our last chance to see them. Personally, I can't get enough of them... they make me laugh and once again, I'm almost certain they love me more.

His aunt is on my side for every debate he and I might have - especially the "I don't want to change my last name just because I'm your wife" debate.

Last night she tells me in all seriousness that she strongly regrets changing hers. She says that she feels now that, in ways, she lost her identity.

I don't think I have those issues... it's just a tradition that doesn't belong to me, or my culture... my mother and I don't share last names and as far as I can tell, I wasn't hugely fucked up by that alone. I have no identity issues... in fact, I might have a stronger sense...

I was born with my name as my name, and I just feel that I should die with it.

This isn't the 12 century anymore... I don't need to get my ear tagged just because I'm married... That's what the hunk of gold and diamonds are for... and everyone will know I'm his... If they don't, I shall tell them.

He needn't lose sleep over it....


previous next comments diaryland old