I think I may have learned something 2005-07-18 9:54 p.m.


I think you'd be shocked by me, Davy...

Finally my days of education... professionalism, if you will, my days of listening have paid off in the smallest way.

I never thought I'd learned much talking to people like Jeff Martin and Bryan Byrne and dare I admit Edwin, but they all said similar things when I had (in some cases it was) the pleasure of talking to them.

They miss their privacy.

Saturday it never crossed my mind that I might be one of six people sitting in a field watching as the Sam Roberts band got their kit up... I never thought I would actually get an opportunity to walk up to who is the greatest canadian rocker we've had in years and shake a hand or introduce myself... the opportunity was there... and I didn't take it.

Are you surprised?

And later he was only a couple feet to my left standing with his opening bands watching the roadies arrange drums.... again, I didn't have to get out of my seat to speak to him... but instead... when he looked with a smile, I just smiled back...

On our way to the bathroom we passed him again... and again he smiled "hey, again..." Yes... hi again.

I had this nagging voice of Mr. Martin in my brain saying how he so greatly missed quiet moments and his own small thoughts in the midst of being on the road.

I did ask one of the roadies if I could use the rockstar toilet *haha* I knew it'd be the cleanest on the ground... lol he actually said I could and was gonna help me jump the fence... but truthfully I was just being funny... I'd already gone pee by then.

I've rubbed up against a few Canadian musicians... from Bobby Baker, Sum 41 to Finger 11... and if I wasn't sleeping with one of their relatives... if we hadn't shared holidays together as kid, or if I wasn't being paid to come back with an interview... I've never said anything to them... just a smile... likely a trademark wink.... that's it.

I guess growing up being so wrapped up in rockstars... I've realized they are, after all, just one of us... and I don't need to be one of a thousand people who melt into their memory as a stupid, screaming fan... making a fool of themselves or being the friend of a friend of a friend who happened to get connected with the alignment of the stars and the sun. It's not important to me. But I did surprise myself... and I made my Mum proud.

And as Mr. Roberts passed us by, three steps after his smile a group of people came barreling towards him... jumping with sharpies in hand and asking him for photos....

Yes... the is definitely not me.

And to make light... *hahaha* Being stopped more than few times on the streets of Toronto as the lovely Keri Russell, myself... I can attest to how much fun it isn't to be bothered when you don't want to be... Wow... that wouldn't be so funny if it wasn't so true. I hate Felicity.... and I cut my hair first.


previous next comments diaryland old