Kids. 2005-01-25 10:04 p.m.


Where to start...

Happily, my friend is the proud mother of a completely healthy and beautiful baby girl called Faith.

She amazed me... she was so completely comfortable in my arms... and soothed by my voice. I'd speak to her and she'd melt like butter and snuggle into my body... but when her aunt, whom her mother never saw when pregnant, came in and held her, she went rigid and started to scream... back again in my arms, with my voice she fell loose... It felt like she knew me... and maybe from the nine months of eight hours a day with me no more than a few feet from her, she does. I just never realized how a child that small can actually recognize a person by a voice and touch....

I fell in love again after Faith...

I tend to be a bit of a magnet for little kids... beit my size that I'm pretty much at their eye level... beit my smile... lol or my exceptionally kind face lol... but it seems I attract kids... in restuarants, in stores.... or kids just passing by... they stop and stare, or start talking to me like I'm their newest, coolest friend.

We hadn't seen our friends for quite some time until Friday and the change in their boy is incredible. He's walking and talking... and yelling, and screaming, and signing and dancing. He's wonderful and lovely... and within a few minutes we were playing guitar and blocks and being silly.

He made me laugh... he's so bright and fun... and being around him was so completely refreshing.

As much as I'm not a great lover of kids, I think being in Alberta I miss them. I was rather used to kids back home... neighbours and kids I babysat.... Isahia, Kaila, Kristen, Tyler, Lizbif, Tom, Vanessa, the twins and Caitlin (remember the twins Davy? I think they're 10 or 11 now...) Sarah and Kyle... I miss the innocence. Other than B's so-called niece and nephew, Sheri's boys, Shannon's girls and our friend's boy, I don't know many here, and I certainly am not entertaining them every other day like I used to.

I could be a better "Auntie" than I am, and steal the B's brother's kids for the weekend now and then... *lol* but they're a bit of a hyper handful...

I'd never thought I'd admit that I miss kids... in the older days I'd be annoyed that I'd have a kid on my hip... that I couldn't have a phone conversation with Davy on a Sunday without one of the girls coming and jumping on me... climbing. I hated that the only free time I had in highschool was spent changing diapers, bathing kids, brushing teeth and potty training... but it paid for college so I did it. And now... without them... I miss it.

Mum used to tell me, when I'd complain, that I had the most important job... that I was shaping lives and making memories... I'm not sure whose life and whose memories she was referring to... theirs or mine.


previous next comments diaryland old