stranger's words. 2004-12-04 8:10 p.m.


It's not often that strangers say kind things... I guess, for the most part, that is what makes them strange... the lack of contact... the lack of whatever makes a stranger feel safe... But the rare moments that a stranger says anything to me, it's usaully weird.

Today trying on pants in a store this girl beside me looks me up and down... and she says so casually... "You're really pretty."

I look at her, thinking maybe she's talking to the invisible friend beside her... and she says "No, really, you're beautiful."

And, what do you say to that? *haha* I've had a strange man say that once or twice... but never a girl... and for whatever reason that just seems to hold more merit...

It's the second time this week... whatever it is they see... I simply don't.


previous next comments diaryland old