late night radio 2004-08-14 8:55 p.m.


I spoke long at length with a friend I had in high school... we hadn't spoke, let alone see each other, in probably five or six years.

And even after all that time... with my first "Hello" he knew my voice.

I had forgotten until last night how much I enjoy him... what is about him that brings out me...

He and I shared a few classes together and it wasn't until grade 10 that our friendship grew. I don't even know why or how... if it was because he was friends with a friend, or because one of my closest friends then was his cousin... but we somehow became nearly inseparable between classes... within the few we shared, and on lunch breaks.

He was, then, my voice of reason and reality... I seem to always need one of those... a guiding light... He was my Davy in high school.... and then in college we lost touch... but over the years I tried to find him now and then... and I managed a few times to get in touch.

Our problem: when we talk... we talk for HOURS... I think if our phones hadn't died, we'd still be talking...

He is one of few that i trust... and I forgot that too, until we spoke... I just never really trusted him enough back when I should have... when he could have helped me with H, and I hope that doesn't hurt him in the same way it hurts me now.

I had forgotten that I love him... in an unconditional sense that surpasses and cannot compare to the way I love others. Within my vision of him, he can never do anything to make me love him less.

I can't define him... where he fits and why it is I'll forever try to find him as the years pass. I can't explain the comfort... but he makes me laugh... we ALWAYS laugh... hard and long... and we always have a lot to say, even when there's just silence between us... I used to find my greatest comfort with my head on his knee... or on his shoulder... with his arms around me... or his hand in mine... this boy I never kissed... Thinking back it was a strange relationship... but I cherish it still.

And just as every late-night conversation ended nine years ago... he sighed and said "Alight, Manda... love you."

I hung up and thought... the more things change... the more they stay the same.


previous next comments diaryland old