My vote is no. 2004-06-20 9:03 p.m.


As a Canadian I excercise my right to NOT vote. You'd be surprised how many people (family mainly) have a HUGE PROBLEM with this. It makes me smile... and to be honest, the bigger a problem someone has with it, the less I WANT to do it.

It's my "duty" as a Candian to vote... they tell me... Yeah well, it's my duty to do a lot of things, and I often don't have a choice. It doesn't make me irresponsible... it makes me a realist. Why would I vote when I don't agree with, like, or want any of those assholes representing my opinion in parliment.

It's like voting for "pork chops" or "mashed patotes"... I fucking HATE both. (Just the bringing the issue down to a level we can ALL understand).

Lets level this down a little more....

Liberals... are arrogant... I mean years leading will do that to a party... even after "misplacing" a whack of money they're a little too confident and I personally don't like a compaign that is nothing more than shitting on the competetion. Don't tell me how BAD the Conservatives are. I already know.

Besides, I personally know the guy that Martin hired for his landscaping (back when he was a local schmoo and not the PM). If that's any indication on how he makes decisions... ummm.. no thanks.

The Conservatives... well I wouldn't vote for anything even remotely associated with Ralph Klein.... but I must admit Mr. Harper has some charming qualities... and though few and far between he sometimes says something smart. He's just... very... lol... conservative. I am many things... but I am definitely not that. Alberta hasn't changed me THAT much.

NDP... well I don't really know much about them. They are kind of the underdog.... and I wouldn't vote for anything or anyone who can't make themselves stand out. This IS a race people.

And the above goes for all the other parties.... Make some noise...

Maybe I'll change my mind between now and then... maybe I'll vote for the lesser of great evils whoever that might be....

Maybe I should just get into politics and be the first not to lie like a wooden boy.


previous next comments diaryland old