goodbyes burn 2004-01-16 11:57 a.m.


We're burrying Grandpa in a couple hours...

I would pay a King's ransome to not be here today... and I know that is selfish - though nonetheless true.

I have never known a funeral to be a production... days of get togethers and dinners and socializing... presentations. It simply isn't how we do it at home... and I am finding it excrutiating.

They asked me to read at the service today... the letter to Grandpa that I posted here days ago... I had sent it for him while he was in the hospital and I hear it meant a lot to him... so, the family wants it read...

I can't, Grandpa... and I know I don't have to tell you why.

I spent a bit doing up the programs yesterday and the night before. I wish I had more time... I don't like them, necessarily, but Maureen loves them and that is what matters. She says you'd be pleased... and I know she's right.

Well... off to get dressed... get pretty... I am afraid... I am not sure what of... but I simply feel afraid...

Of goodbye, I guess.


previous next comments diaryland old