My last words.... 2004-01-13 9:19 p.m.


My last words to a fabulous man; a man I will miss always.

Grandpa,

I remember well the first day that we met. I hadn�t been in Grande Prairie more than a day when Blair and I ran into you in the elevator of our building. He introduced me to you and instead of shaking my hand, you gave me a hug. You made it very easy for me to love you immediately.

I wasn�t as lucky as Blair, Greg and Tracy. I never had grandparents in my adult years and I only ever knew one grandmother long enough to feel attached. Knowing you has made me miss her a little less - you�re a storyteller just like she was, with a fabulous memory for detail. You helped fill a void of sorts and I appreciate that.

I remember the night of your wedding to Maureen. You introduced me as a part of your family. I felt honoured that I was worthy enough to be introduced to a room full of your friends as a member of your incredible family. I never did say thank you for that, so thank you.

Among many things, I'll always remember your concern for others. The way, no matter how you were feeling, you always wanted to know about my life, and about my health wishing me well (or luck if I needed it) when we parted.

My favourite memory I share with you, however, has to be the Christmas before last when you and I danced in front of the Christmas tree. The turkey was being carved and we were suppose to be making our way to the table. As I passed you, you took my hand and asked for a dance. We didn't have any music, so you hummed a Christmas tune. We were the last to be seated at the table that evening - a few moments late, but it was well worth it.

Maureen caught us *hehe* and took a picture. I have never seen it, but imagine my eyes are closed. I should ask her one day where that picture went.

I don't dance with many people, you know. I don't even think Blair and I have ever danced together. I enjoyed it, Grandpa, and I can still hear your hum that tune.

It is difficult to find any one moment I shared with you and distinguish it as better than any other. Truthfully, any time we share company is special to me. I am grateful for our memories and for the family I found in you and yours.

You have left me with times I'll never forget.

I love you always,

Amanda

xo


previous next comments diaryland old