bitch 9-0-0 2003-12-03 9:12 p.m.


900 entries... wow. I need a hobby.

Today's entry is brought to by the letters F and U and by the number 2.

I think the week has been bad to me... not so much the day. I am just so tired...

I have a customer whom I generally like... we have a good working rapport... I usually understand him and I rarely have to question what he wants or what he needs... He's normally pleasant, almost playful... good to get along with and moreover I generally don't have to chase him to meet deadlines... However lately he has been the BIGGEST pain in my ass... changing things that shouldn't be changed... making stupid requests on very tight deadlines... he's really "art directing" when he usually leaves that up to me.

I met my last straw when he threw an ad back at me... wanting me to put six pictures on one side, three on the other... cramming everything up... and then he writes "And make this stand out MORE" talking about the only bit of text on sheet...

I turned to my boss and said "What if I write 'DICKHEAD' all around it in a frame... would THAT stand out enough for him?!"

He grinned... "Try it."

Anyway I think the word got out that I was annoyed... this afternoon he stopped by briefly... and when my boss left the room he peeked his head behind the door... "How's the magic behind the maddness?"

"Tired... how are you?"

"Tired. I am really sorry if I've been a dick lately."

"Fair enough..."

I suppose realization is more than I usually get....

And then... off to the photolab...

I work with customers too. I know their needy... and anxious... and I know everything should have been done yesterday... and as a CUSTOMER yes, I should get what I am PAYING for when you SAY I can have it... not five minutes later... not ten minutes later and CERTAINLY NOT 40 FUCKING minutes LATER!

I was annoyed to begin with that they take "pride in quick turn-around... you know 1 HOUR PHOTO" and I had to wait at least 2 hours for 4 prints. I was annoyed, but given that it is getting close to the holidays... and I know they're busy... I went back two hours later.

They weren't "quite" ready and would be another 5 minutes. I came back 10 mintes later. They still weren't ready and "would be in 5"

I was ok with that until she turns and says "We only have one guy in the lab..." As she has two people standing beside her with their thumbs up each other's asses... I am the only one in line. Maybe one of them, if not HER, could go up there and give Speedy a little kick in his "get going" ass.

"Why is that MY problem?"

You see... her job and my job are not that different. We both have to keep bitchy people happy... and having a fucking stupid excuse like "we only have one guy on" is not a good enough reason to make someone wait. If they were busy, they should have called staff in.

or try these:

"We're really fucking busy tonight and there is no more one hour service."

Ok.

"I can't have them for you tonight, but definitely when it's convenient for you tomorrow they will be done."

Ok.

"I can colour copy them for you right away at a reduced cost."

Ok.

"Our one guy lost his left arm and there are no pictures for anyone... ever.. again."

Ok.

I would have been a little annoyed but I would have bene annoyed 2 HOURS ago and my night wouldn't have been wasted waiting on 4 prints.

I guess I am dumb having faith in the ol' "Five more minutes" bullshit... but by minute 40... I wasn't really impressed. Unfortuately I needed them as soon as I could get them...

So I get home... and I mounted the prints. Fabulous. No problem... look great... I go to stick them in a frame... and what happens... but the glass slides and I slice the tip of my finger open. The index finger on my right hand... it gets used for everything. And I am horrible when it comes to blood... I get very queezy-faint when I bleed.

Sitting on the edge of the couch with a bloody paper towel... arm raised as the boy gets me a bandage to cover it stop the bleeding before I passout... he smirks.

"Maybe you should go to bed now... before the night gets worse."

Good idea.


previous next comments diaryland old