rearview mirror 2003-11-30 6:06 p.m.


I stumbled across pictures of you a few minutes ago... it's all I can do now not to cry a flood at my feet.

I am never prepared for your face... never prepared for the flash of sweetness I can smell and taste...

It doesn't get easier for me... and I hide folded between secret after secret... and covered cozy with lies.

She talked about you living long after they told us you were dying... I wanted to scream then... I wanted to rip at her that it wasn't long enough... that I loved you... that you are my one whole and true regret.

If I could go back eight years... I would play you so differently... I would have been there every day until your last... and I would have been there the day they burried you. They day we let you float away...

You should have told me, baby... I should have known...

And now this... one photograph... with a head full of memories I can't contain.

~I want you in my rearview mirror....~


previous next comments diaryland old