Sina 2003-10-25 11:10 a.m.


My mind never lets me forget anything... I know today is a former childhood friend's birthday.

I called her Sina, usually... for ease I guess. From the age of five to about 11 I was a sarrogate part of her huge family...

I haven't spoken to Sina in years. We didn't associate much in high school... we just grew apart mostly... and if you had asked me then and ask me now... I do still love her like I did when I was seven. Really... nothing has changed... I just don't know her as well... I am sure she doesn't know that.

My family vacationed once in the Maritimes where her mother's family is from. We rented this little cottage on PEI from a very old couple with a farm - lots of horses... hay and I recall sneezing for the best part of two weeks. We had a good time, but I terribly missed Sina... and her sisters. It was nearly killing me... but luckily for me they TOO were on the island visiting family.

My parents took me to Sina's auntie's... we had dinner there... There were SO many kids. Sina's and her three sisters... I and my brothers, and another girl from home was there too... Em... her brother and sister... and Sina's cousin. We played tag and hide and seek all night long... I always had the disadvantage... being small and not really able to walk or run well... but her cousin, as many did, awed in my pint size... and he sort of took over as my legs... with me on his back, we raced as one... and won, more often than not... I had fun. He was a nice kid and I have never seen him since... not in flesh, anyway.

It almost saddens me how as we grow... we grow away from those pure moments as children where things were as simple as NEEDING to be in the same room as your best friend, as knowing who she was as certain as knowing what candy was your favourite. Simplicity gets lost from those moments on...

I am sure she's a fabulous woman now. I imagine she's a teacher... I can just picture her as one. I doubt she has kids... but it wouldn't surprise me if she's married.

And those are things I think of everyday... of all the people who have passed me... or passed me by... how they are... and how they stand... and the moments in our lives... young or not so... that made memories my mind won't soon forget.


previous next comments diaryland old