Girls 2003-10-23 9:24 p.m.


I am light hearted... amazingly so consider the day I've had.

I sat down tonight to send a card to a couple friends... I always send a Halloween card to Amanda... it's a life-long habit I am not soon to break... and in the midst of looking for tape I found a sticker I won in August from Thrifity's...

It's a squirrel... and he's saying "Scratch the nuts!"... I laughed aloud for FAR too long and then decided Amanda probably can't live another day without the squirrel... so in the card it went, with the nuts...

I also wrote a card for Robyn... we share a similar kind of humour... of mixed-upped-ness and invented expressions...

"This card made me laugh from ear to ear... that is much like grinning aloud, but with less sound..." THAT sort of thing.

About six or seven years ago she sabotaged a pile of gifts with millions of confetti stars... I was picking up stars for ages.

And guess what I found in the dollar store last night? *laugh*

The war is on...

I am sure she'll laugh... and I know Amanda won't catch her breath for at least a half an hour....

I do miss them... and the unique insanity that is them... that is us.

We were each very set in our roles growing up.

Robyn the devoted good girl.. studious...

Amanda... strives for goodness... eager to succeed... Pretty as a tulip with a mouth like a sailor.

And I... the wild child who couldn't care what people think... the first one to jump... to leave... to do just about everything. I could ride life like a wave.

And now we've grown... and I am still the first to step... usually... the first to leave home... the first to work full-time... the first to find love... and the first to settle down.

I just kind of feel a little distant now... you know... when are my girls going to catch up?

Amanda with the bad boy and Robyn with the degrees... and I, the girl who has lived a full life at 23.


previous next comments diaryland old