Dragonfly 2003-08-30 8:25 p.m.


The largest dragonfly I have ever seen landed against the wall outside our window.

The cat watched it hopefully from the balcony... and I stood behind him... speechless.

I should have got my camera.... but I was too afraid. Afraid, maybe that it would eat me... or land on me and bite... don't go pretending they don't either... I grew up near a river where they bred... and I have been bitten MANY times by smaller less scary ones... it hurts. I was numbed imagining the pain from a pinch of a dragon fly that big.

Without a word of a lie I would have to guess it was probably five inches across the wings and a good seven or eight inches long.

The cat pawed recklessly at the edge of the balcony... wanting to badly at it. I am sure it SEEMED like a fine idea for the cat... but I am sure if he had half a brain he would have agreed with him when I begged him not to make it fly.

It finally it took off away from us... the flight of it's wings sounding like the leathery flapping of a bat's... or the clanking of those clicker toys, popular when girls my age were ten. Annoying toys... but the sound very distinctive and associable. A sound, like these wings, I won't soon forget.

I am a little freaked... even now... thinking about this beastly thing... I wanna forget it, but I KNOW it can chew through my screen.

For the lack of a more civil saying.... ICK!


previous next comments diaryland old